Go now and wander for the welfare and happiness of men, out of compassion for the world, and proclaim the life of purity.

All sentient beings are future buddhas.

The command of one’s self is the greatest empire a man can aspire to, and consequently, to be subject to our own passions is the most grievous slavery.

According to the seed that’s sown, so is the fruit you reap there from.  The doer of good will gather good.  The doer of bad will reap bad.  Sown is the seed and planted well.  You shall enjoy the fruit thereof.

You yourselves should strive on; the Buddhas only show the Path – the Noble Eightfold Path leading to enlightenment and Nirvana (peace).

I have directed you towards deliverance.  My teachings, the Truth, is to be self-realized.

The Path is open to anyone who earnestly strives for perfect purity, true wisdom and enlightenment.

Till the ultimate goal is achieved, a Buddhist is expected to lead a noble and useful life.

If we ignore meditation and mindfulness, life lacks meaning, purpose and inspiration.

Mindfulness means observing whatever happens inside oneself and whatever one does, watching with naked awareness.

Do not let your days pass away like the shadow of a cloud which leaves behind it no trace for remembrance.

A man who talks a lot is not considered wise; but a man who is free of hatred and does not harm; and is calm and confident is called wise.

Neither good looks nor a glib tongue makes a man attractive, if he is envious, stingy and dishonest.

A shaven head does not make a man a monk, if he is still undisciplined and dishonest.  How can he be called a monk, if he is filled with lust and greed?

A man can not be called wise simply because he is silent.  He who is aware, conscious of what is, acting and choosing wisely, is wise.

He who harms living beings can not be considered Noble, only by exercising harmlessness towards life in every form can one be called Noble.

Cut off the love of ego with your own hands, follow the peaceful path leading to Nirvana (peace) guided by the one who has walked the path.

If, by giving up lesser comforts, one will find a true happiness, the wise should give up the lesser comforts and pursue the true happiness.

One who is lazy and negligent; who does what should not be done and fails to do what should be done, accrues unwholesome mental states.

The Four Minds in Life:  Approach the world with loving-kindness; help people with compassion; work with joy in your heart; and practice with equanimity.

Some see what is right as wrong and what is wrong as right; having such false mind, they go to a suffering state.

Others see wrong as wrong, and right as right; having such right mind, and they go to a joyful state.

It is a blessing to reach old age as a morally good being;  it is a blessing to be of unshakable faith; it is a blessing to achieve insight; and it is a blessing to abstain from misdeed.

This craving and this clinging overpowers the man caught in it, and his suffering multiply, like wild weeds fed by rain.

The gift of Truth is the best gift; the taste of Truth is the sweetest taste; the joy of Truth is the greatest joy; and the extinction of craving is the end of suffering.

To support one’s father and mother, to cherish one’s spouse and children, and to be engaged in peaceful occupations, this is one of the highest blessings.

To cease and abstain from wrong, to abstain from intoxicating drinks, and be diligent in performing righteous acts, this is one of the highest blessings.

He whose mind is not touched by the vicissitudes of life; and whose mind is free from sorrow, is a man of Holy Life.

He who leads a very simple and calm life in the service of the people; and who is unselfish and free from greed, is a man of Holy Life.

Taking refuge in the Triple Gem:  The Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha.

The Three Dharma Seals:  All phenomena are impermanent; all phenomena do not have a substantial existence; and Nirvana is tranquility and peace.

The Ten Transcendental Virtues:  generosity, morality, renunciation, wisdom, energy, patience, truthfulness, resolution, loving-kindness, and equanimity.


The Foundation of BuddhismThe Four Noble Truths

(1) The presence of suffering; (2) the cause of suffering; (3) to transform, heal and end the suffering; and (4) the Noble Eightfold Path leading to the cessation of suffering.


The Path to Perfection

When a person can abandon greed, hate, and delusion, he or she can, like Buddha, become enlightened.  However, few people can achieve this because the amount of Karma they need to dissolve — which they have collected in previous lives through good and bad deeds as well as lack of recognition of the real world — is simply too great, making the achievement of enlightenment too hard to attain.  Buddha taught people how to overcome the source of suffering and to follow the Eightfold Path to perfection over the course of their many existences.

The Noble Eightfold Path:  Right understanding, right thought, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right meditation.

Morality: Right Speech, Right Action, and Right Livelihood.

Mental Discipline:  Right Effort, Right Mindfulness, and Right Meditation.

Wisdom:  Right Understanding, and Right Thought.


The Five Precepts

Buddha also taught the Five Precepts for daily life:

(1)  Have sympathy and respect for even the lowest living creatures.

(2)  Give and receive freely, but do not take anything that is not yours to take.

(3)  Never tell a lie, even the situation seems to excuse it.

(4)  Avoid intoxicants.

(5)  Respect your spouses and do not engage in sexual misconduct.


The Four Foundation of Mindfulness:

There is this unique way for the purification of beings, for the elimination of sufferings, for the attainment of wisdom, and for the realization of Enlightenment.

1.  Contemplation of the body as impure;

2.  Contemplation of feelings as the origin of suffering;

3.  Contemplation of thoughts as impermanent, always arising then extinguishing;  and

4.  Contemplation of  all phenomena having no substantial existence.

(a) The Five Hindrances:  Sense-desire, anger, sloth and torpor, restlessness and brooding, indecision.

(b) The Five Aggregates of Grasping: Material form, feeling, perception, mental states, consciousness.

(c) The Six Internal and the Six External Sense-bases:

The Six Internal Sense-bases: Eye, ear, nose, tongue, body and mind.

The Six External Sense-bases:  Form, sound, smell, taste, touch and mental object.

(d) The Factors of Enlightenment:

Mindfulness, Investigation of reality, Energy, Joy, Tranquility, Concentration, and Equanimity.

(e)  Contemplation on the Four Noble Truths


May all be happy and safe;

May all be blessed with peace always…

May none deceive another, nor scorn another,

Nor, in anger or ill-will, desire another’s sorrow…


By ourselves we cease from wrong.

By ourselves we become pure.

No one save us but ourselves.

We ourselves must walk the Path

The Buddhas only show us the  Path.

May all beings be happy and safe.

May all beings have happy minds.





(Spring Liao, 2/5/09)